Remnants

I just hope your chest aches

In the spot where I’d lay my head on gloomy days,

I hope you can’t bear to roll over

To the other side of the bed,

The part where my warmth still lingers,

I hope that when you find a strand of my hair

Tangled amongst your sheets

That you don’t have the strength to remove it,

Because it’s the last part of me

That you still have.

I hope the sound of the rain resembles

My heartbeat in your ears,

And that the sunshine after thunderstorms

Reminds you of the glow on my cheeks,

From back in the days

When you could make me happy.

Leave a Reply

