A Slow Song

The first song you ever showed me

Was a sad song.

It had slow guitar strums

And gloomy lyrics about love and loss.

You twirled my hair around your finger

As we laid in the light,

Melancholic clouds hanging above us,

Unnoticed by two souls preoccupied with

The warmth between their heartbeats.

Funny how the first song I heard with you

Would be the last song I thought of

When I recalled the seasons

We’d spent in ignorance;

A secret soundtrack I had

Only just discovered.

Leave a Reply

