Better

The more I think about it

The less I understand

How you can say I deserve better

When the best is in my hands

 

Tell me it’s not working and

That we should just move on

Even though it worked just fine

Until better came along

 

Apparently something’s changed

And doesn’t feel quite right, for

It seemed a little too good to be true

In your arms the other night

 

But you say that you just need

Some time to think about it all, so

In the meantime I’ll forget your name

Until the next time you call

 

When you beg me to remember you,

To not move on too fast,

Perhaps just scared to see me

Find something destined to last

 

So I’ll save a space for your name

On my ever growing list

Of those who tell me I deserve

Better yet fail to be it

Leave a Reply

