Pillow Thoughts

He asked me what kept me awake at night

And thought I would respond

With his name in my thoughts

Til the break of dawn

But I told him about the wheels

That keep spinning long after

My head meets the pillow

How my heart keeps looking

For the right words

Even after my eyes have shut

How when my legs are tired

I continue to run

Chasing stray thoughts with a pen and

Trapping them between the lines

Before they escape me

Hoping these insomniac words

Will fall asleep before I do

Just once

So I can kiss them goodnight

 

Leave a Reply

