Waning

You loved me like the moon loves the sky

Too much and not enough at the same time

And every time your heart would wane

I felt my own drive me insane

 

But when it was full was the best part

You lit me up like the north star, and

Drowned all the clouds in your light

Giving darkness no chance to fight

For the attention of the sky at night

No one could stop you; you were too bright

 

Until the night, when the sky turned to gray

To welcome the dawn of another day

And suddenly you went away

Leaving the stars with no place to stay

And me, with not much else to say

 

Leave a Reply

